2017 NCHSAA Football 3A State Championship

2017 NCHSAA Football 3A State Championship Review

New Hanover (Wilmington) and Charlotte Catholic have won the 2017 NCHSAA Football 3A State Championship (3AA & 3A).

3AA State Championship

New Hanover 27, A.C. Reynolds 17


1st Quarter


2nd Quarter

New Hanover: Wiz Vaughn 3-yard rush TD (Westley Gaines PAT) NH 7-0

A.C. Reynolds: Alex Flinn 10-yard rush TD (Ethan Blakey PAT) Tie 7-7

3rd Quarter

Reynolds: Blakey 29-yard FG ACR 10-7

Hanover: Blake Walston 75-yard TD pass to Cole Tanner (Gaines PAT) NH 14-10

Reynolds: Nathan St. onge 6-yard TD pass to Talon James (Blakey PAT) ACR 17-14

Hanover: Walston 1-yard rush TD (PAT no good) NH 20-17

4th Quarter

Hanover: Vaughn 2-yard rush TD (Gaines PAT) NH 27-17

Final: New Hanover 27-17

Stats and Notes

The state title is New Hanover’s fourth football championship overall (1927, 1928, 1951, 2017). Wildcats’ star athlete Wiz Vaughn was MVP of the game. Vaughn carried the ball 18 times for 74 yards and two touchdowns. He also hauled in six Blake Walston passes for 50 yards. Walston completed 12 of 22 attempts for 206 yards and two touchdowns (1 rush, 1 pass). Walston earned East Most Outstanding Offensive Player honors.

Though the entire New Hanover defensive unit played well as a whole, Francis Meehan’s interception in the fourth quarter earned him East Most Outstanding Defensive Player. 

For Reynolds, RB I’dre Bell was the West Most Outstanding Offensive Player in the losing effort. Bell totaled 131 yards from scrimmage on 20 total touches (13 carries, 7 receptions). On the other side of the ball, Frank Torres led the Rockets defense. Torres earned honors as West Most Outstanding Defensive Player.

3A State Championship

Charlotte Catholic 28, Havelock 14


1st Quarter

Charlotte Catholic: Christopher Walton 5-yard TD pass to Paul Neel (George Griggs PAT) CC 7-0 

Havelock: Khalil Barrett 2-yard TD run (Christian Hoomana PAT) Tie 7-7

2nd Quarter

Catholic: Walton 1-yard TD run (PAT no good) CC 13-7

3rd Quarter

Havelock: Zach Sabdo 27-yard TD pass to Welton Spottsville (Hoomana PAT) H 14-13

4th Quarter

Catholic: Lamagea McDowell 5-yard TD run (McDowell 2pt) CC: 21-14

Catholic: McDowell 2-yard TD run (Griggs PAT) CC: 28-14

Final: Charlotte Catholic 28-14

Stats and Notes

Charlotte Catholic’s football championship is the seventh in Cougar history (’77, ’81, ’84, ’04, ’05, ’15, ’17). Milian Howard (29 carries, 160 yards) led the rushing attack that racked up 272 total yards in total. Howard was MVP of the game. 

Catholic running game controlled time of possession in the contest. Overall the Cougars possessed the ball almost thirteen minutes longer than Havelock. Fourth quarter hero, Lamagea McDowell scored the Cougars final two touchdowns to go with 63 yards on 18 carries. McDowell took home West Most Outstanding Offensive Player honors. On the other side of the ball, Chase Foley (7 tackles) earned West Most Outstanding Defensive Player.

For Havelock, QB Zach Sabdo (16/21, 207 yards, TD) was the East Most Outstanding Offensive Player. ATH Welton Spottsville was East Most Outstanding Defensive Player.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *